Skip to Content

Skip to Content

Home > Alumni > Distinguished Alumni/ae Award Previous Recipients

Distinguished Alumni/ae Award Previous Recipients

Vanderbilt Divinity School and the Graduate Department of Religion recognize distinguished alumni/ae whose accomplishments and contributions have had a broad impact and positive effect in various forms of ministry and scholarship.

The Divinity School award is given to someone who has demonstrated excellence and distinction in justice making through their work in congregational ministry, religious institutions, ecumenical organizations, community –based organizations, government, or other social institutions.

The Graduate Department of Religion award is given to someone whose scholarship, teaching, or research has advanced the understanding of religion and its formative impact in the world.

2003 - Rev. Charlotte Hotopp Zachary, Oberlin BD'57

Charlotte Hotopp ZacharyThe Rev. Charlotte Hotopp Zachary, who exemplified the ideals of the "School of Prophets," received the award posthumously in 2003. 






2000 - Rev. Dr. Gardner C. Taylor, Oberlin BD'40

Rev. Dr. Gardner Taylor

The Rev. Dr. Gardner C. Taylor was chosen for his exceptionally courageous ministry as a preacher, teacher, pastor, and prophet to the church and society. Learn more about Dr. Taylor. 





1998 - Rev. Dr. Fred Craddock, Ph.D'64

Rev. Dr. Fred Craddock

The Rev. Dr. Fred Craddock revolutionized the art of preaching. Learn more about Dr. Craddock.





1996 - Rev. Dr. James Lawson, D'60

Rev. Dr. James Lawson

An activist and university professor, Rev. Dr. James Lawson was a leading theoretician and tactician of nonviolence within the American Civil Rights Movement. Learn more about Dr. Lawson.