Skip to main content

Faculty

FACULTY

Victor Anderson
Professor of Christian Ethics
Professor of African American Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
victor.anderson@vanderbilt.edu

Dale P. Andrews
Distinguished Professor of Homiletics, Social Justice and Practical Theology
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
d.p.andrews@vanderbilt.edu

Lewis Baldwin
Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies
Vanderbilt Graduate Department of Religion, Nashville, TN
lewis.v.baldwin@vanderbilt.edu
 
Dennis C. Dickerson
Professor of History
Vanderbilt Graduate Department of Religion, Nashville, TN
dennis.c.dickerson@vanderbilt.edu

Michael Eric Dyson
Centennial Chair and University Distinguished Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies
University Distinguished Professor of Ethics and Society, Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN 
michael.e.dyson@vanderbilt.edu

Forrest Harris
Assistant Professor in the Practice of Ministry
Director of the Kelly Miller Smith Institute on Black Church Studies
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
forrest.e.harris@vanderbilt.edu

Juan Floyd-Thomas
Associate Professor of African American Religious History 
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
j.floyd-thomas@vanderbilt.edu

Stacey Floyd-Thomas
E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Chair in Ethics and Society
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
s.floyd-thomas@vanderbilt.edu

Herbert Marbury
Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
h.marbury@vanderbilt.edu

Phillis I. Sheppard
E. Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Associate Professor of Religion, Psychology, and Culture
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
Phillis.i.sheppard@vanderbilt.edu

Lisa Thompson
Associate Professor and the Cornelius Vanderbilt Chancellor Faculty Fellow of Black Homiletics and Liturgics
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
Lisa.l.thompson@vanderbilt.edu

Emilie M. Townes
Dean of the Divinity School
Distinguished Professor of Ethics and Society 
Vanderbilt Divinity School, Nashville, TN
emilie.m.townes@vanderbilt.edu